James Vince becomes the T20 blasts all-time leading run scorer in six wicket defeat to Surrey at the Ageas Bowl.

Vince scored 88*(56) with eight 4s and three 6s as his side posted 156/4 off their 20 overs.

In the process the Hampshire captain surpassed Luke Wright to become the all-time leading scorer in the Vitality Blast. With 5,054 runs to his name Vince has also scored four centuries and 35 half centuries in a career that has seen him win the competition three times.

However it was not to be for Hampshire as they failed to post a high enough score after losing the toss and batting. Tom Prest joined Vince at the crease in the third over after opener Ben Mcdermott was caught off the bowling of Sean Abbott for 18(13). 

Prest contributed 33(33) after a slow start including several play and misses early on. The Surrey bowlers restricted the Hants batters throughout the innings. Abbott and Sunil Narine lead the attack, picking up a wicket each they bowled with economies of 4.33 and 5.5 respectively. 

Opener Will Jacks scored an unbeaten 83*(57) in Surrey’s reply as they chased down the 157 run target for the loss of four wickets, with seven balls to spare. Hampshire can draw a positive from left arm spinner Liam Dawson’s performance as he took two wickets for 18 from his four overs.