THE Winchester local election count was postponed on Saturday - and it is still unclear when the final declarations will be made.

Volunteers are still counting the Police Crime and Commissioner votes at River Park Leisure Centre. 

The council has not provided a rough estimate as to when this will finish.

Two seats are yet to be announced due to a technical hitch with the voting system.

It is thought that some of the St Michael Ward ballot papers were not counted this evening due to an issue with the postal votes.

One batch of papers were sent to voters, and then another later on, meaning voters had two potential forms to fill. Only the latter ones have been counted.

However a senior Lib Dem has disputed this, saying a candidate has requested a recount due to the closeness of the results.  

So far the Tories have won two seats; one formerly filled by an Independent councillor and another by a Lib Dem.

But the political makeup of the council will look roughly the same by the end of Monday, with the Lib Dems retaining control of the council.

Here is what we know so far:

Alresford and Itchen Valley

It was close in Alresford and Itchen Valley – with the Conservative candidate Fiona Isaacs just about clutching the victory with 1,798 votes.

She now takes the seat that was formerly held by Lisa Griffiths, Independent.

Her opponents were Yvette Riley, Lib Dem, 1,692 votes; Tessa Valentine, Labour, 57 votes; Alex Blower, Green, 249 votes.

Badger Farm and Oliver's Battery

Jan Warwick, Conservative, has won the seat in the Badger Farm and Oliver's Battery Ward.

This was previously held by Lib Dem Eleanor Bell, who did not run in this election.

She received 2,021 votes.

James Batho, Lib Dem: 1,269; Adrian Field, Labour: 98; Max Priesemann, Green: 232.

Bishop's Waltham

Michael Kurn, Conservative, has won the Bishop's Waltham seat.

He received 1,504 votes, beating three other candidates.

Jonathan Williams, Lib Dem: 682 votes; Steve Haines, Labour: 184 votes; Richard Sidney Cannon, Green Party: 352 votes.

Central Meon Valley

Frank Pearson, Conservative, retained his seat in the Central Meon Valley Ward with 1,669 votes.

His opponents were: Malcolm Wallace, Green, 1,139 votes; Sheila Campbell, Lib Dem, 542; June Kershaw, Labour, 133.


It was a huge win for councillor Mike Read who retained the Denmead seat with 1,585 votes.

Derrick Murray, Lib Dem, received 409 votes; Robert Parker, Green, 195 votes; David Picton-Jones, Labour, 137 votes. Alan Weir did not state which party he was representing, and received 88 votes.

Southwick and Wickham

It was a poor turnout of just 37.13 per cent in Southwick and Wickham – but Lib Dem Angela Clear retained her seat with 964 votes.

Her opponents: Hilary Elphick, Green: 112 votes; David Roberts, Conservative, 704 votes; Paul Sony, Labour, 86 votes.

St Bartholomew

The St Bartholomew seat, previously held by Dominic Hiscock who did not run this year, has been won by another Lib Dem.

John Henry Tippett-Cooper has won the seat with 1,490 votes.

Patrick Davies, Labour: 222 votes; Charlotte Harley, Green; 302 votes, Teresa Skelton, The Justice and Anti-Corruption Party; 56 votes; Marcus Wood, Conservative: 748 votes.

St Barnabas

Cllr Kelsie Learney, Lib Dem, has retained her seat in the St Barnabas Ward.

It was a close call with her seeing 1,809 votes and Conservative candidate Andy Kam Hung Lai receiving 1,594.

John-James, Labour: 135 votes; Lucinda Graham, Green: 230 votes.

St Luke

Councillor Jamie Scott, Conservative, has retained the St Luke ward seat with 686 votes.

A crowd let off a huge cheer in the election hall when it was announced.

His opponents were: Megan Ball, Labour, 136 votes; Oliver Bell, Green, 82 votes; Cameron Johnson, Lib Dem, 436.

St Paul

Liz Hutchison, Lib Dem, did not run to retain her seat in St Paul Ward this year.

But another Lib Dem has been elected - Christopher John Westwood, with 1,473 votes.

Harry Johnson-Hill, Conservative: 893 votes; Zoe Lewis, Labour: 187 votes; Richard Giles Gooding, Green: 480 votes.

The Worthys

A longstanding Lib Dem councillor will have her seat filled by someone from the same party.

Steve Cramoysan has won The Worthys seat, previously Jackie Porter's. He recevied 1,327 votes.

Dave Brockless, Reform UK: 66 votes; Kimberly Torkington, Labour: 138 votes; Signe Biddle, Conservative: 991 votes.

Whiteley and Shedfield Ward

The deputy mayor has retained her seat in the Whiteley and Shedfield Ward.

Vivian Achwal, Lib Dem, received 1,020 votes.

David Newberry, Conservative: 870 votes; Daniel Reid, Labour: 129 votes.

Wonston and Micheldever

Cllr Stephen Godfrey retained the Wonston and Micheldever seat with 1,954 votes - nearly 1,000 more than second place Andrew Adams, Lib Dem (971 votes).

Alan Stone, Hampshire Independents, saw 76 votes and Jude Wilkinson, Labour, 123 votes.