A HAMPSHIRE health trust has celebrated staff who have gone above and beyond at work with an awards ceremony.

More than 200 Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust workers came together at Winchester Guildhall for the annual Star Awards.

The awards recognise teams and individuals, both clinical and non-clinical, who go beyond their call of duty and are passionate in their work.

More than 630 nominations were received from staff, patients, services users, families and members of the public. 61 nominees were than shortlisted across ten categories.

Southern Health chief executive Nick Broughton said: "This is my second year hosting this extraordinary event that celebrates our hardworking staff. Every nomination is a reflection of the passion, hard work and commitment our staff provide to the people they support every day.

"I continue to be proud to lead an organisation with such a passionate workforce that is committed to delivering the best possible care to those who use our services.”

The winners on the night were:

  • Working in Partnership Award: Tony Saunders, community mental health nurse (Southampton)
  • Respecting Others Award (Voted by staff): Hayley Smith, people development administrator (Hampshire-wide)
  • Transforming Services and the way we work Award: Dr Steve Plenderleith, consultant in palliative medicine (south-east Hampshire)
  • Delivering Value Award: Multi-agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) admin team Jeannette McCready and Ally Langford (Hampshire-wide)
  • Valuing People and Achievement Award: Dominic Glasspool, peer support worker (Southampton)
  • Providing Quality Care Award: Anita Bowser, occupational therapy team manager, Ravenswood House (Southampton)
  • Southern Health Stars Award: Donna Greenwood, community mental health team manager, and Doris Gunuza, Staff Nurse (Basingstoke)
  • Chair and Chief Executive Award: Ginny Taylor, head of children and family services; Julie Hooper area manager school nursing; and Jane Levers, professional lead for school nursing (Hampshire-wide)
  • Patients and People First Award (nominated by patients): Kathryn Dodds, senior nurse practitioner,Hamtun Ward in the Psychiatric Intensive Care Unit, Antelope House in Southampton

Lifetime Achievement Awards were also given out to:

  • David Prout, community mental health nurse, Melbury Lodge in Winchester
  • Carol Bailey, consultant nurse, Tatchbury Mount in Calmore
  • Sarah Wood, senior physiotherapist, based at Dame Mary Fagan House in Basingstoke
  • Christine Lewendon, staff nurse, Ford Ward at Fordingbridge Hospital
  • Diane Stephenson, clinical project lead, based at Gosport War Memorial Hospital
  • Huw Jones, specialist palliative consultant, based at The Rowan's Hospice, Purbrook
  • Anne Prout, learning environment lead, Vocational Centre at Moorgreen Hospital in Southampton
  • Trish Phillips, heart failure specialist nurse, based at Waterlooville Health Centre, Waterlooville