A PROPOSED shake-up of parliamentary boundaries could see at least one Hampshire constituency disappear.

Conservative MP George Hollingbery’s Meon Valley constituency would vanish – carved up between the neighbouring seats of Winchester and East Hampshire, under proposals announced by the Boundary Commission yesterday to reduce the number of MPs by 50 to 600.

A new Test Valley constituency would also be created to replace Romsey and Southampton North, currently represented by immigration minister Caroline Nokes. The villages of Nursling, Rownhams and Chilworth would remain part of the Test Valley seat, despite previous proposals to include them in New Forest East.

The villages of Mottisfont, Awbridge and East and West Tytherley would however move into the New Forest seat.

The changes come after the government promised the consultations as part of its election manifesto.

Mr Hollingbery said he was disappointed, but would continue to serve his constituents as best he could.

He said: “I am, of course, disappointed the Meon Valley constituency will cease to exist if these proposals go through, but I have always supported a reduction in the number of MPs.

“Further, these important and fair changes to constituency boundaries mean everyone’s vote will carry the same weight in future parliamentary elections and fewer MPs also means there is a cost saving for the taxpayer, so I welcome them wholeheartedly.”

Secretary to the commission, Sam Hartley, said: “The recommendations we have published mark the end of a thorough and consultative process to build the new map of constituencies. We’ve travelled the country, taken account of over 35,000 public comments, and heard many impassioned views about how best to reflect local communities in our recommendations, while ensuring that constituencies are all much more equally represented.

The only three Hampshire constituencies to remain completely unchanged would be Basingstoke, Eastleigh and Gosport.