A WINCHESTER councillor who was fired from a garage after stealing money will not be running in next month’s city council elections.

As previously reported, James Byrnes, who is currently an independent councillor for Wonston and Micheldever, was rejected by the city’s Conservative group when he made an application to rejoin earlier this year.

Cllr Byrnes stood down from the ruling Conservative group after the Chronicle uncovered that he had been fired from his job at garage.

The former cabinet member was investigated by police after an allegation that he had stolen £180 from the Budgens shop at Williams Garage in Main Road, Otterbourne.

The former Winchester Prison officer, who previously held the portfolio for transport and professional services, had been set to stand for the Hampshire County Council elections in the Itchen Valley division last year, but dropped out.

No criminal charges were brought as the matter was resolved through a community resolution order – which can only be applied where there is an admission of guilt. It is not a conviction or a caution.

Following Cllr Brynes’ decision, his seat will now be contested by Conservative candidate Patrick Cunningham, chairman of Littleton and Harestock Parish Council; Liberal Democrat Ian Gordon, chairman of the Kings Worthy Parish Council’s planning and highways committee; and Labour candidate Andrew Adams, a Micheldever parish councillor.

In the Alresford and Itchen Valley ward, Tory councillor Ernest Jeffs will be standing down, with Alresford Town Council chairman Margot Power running for the Lib Dems, alongside Conservative and town councillor Irene Spencer and Labour’s Lee Hayes.

Margot Power. Margot Power.

Lib Dem councillor Nicki Elks will also be standing down in St Bartholomew ward, with Kathleen Becker standing in her place. The other candidates standing there are Reginald Humm (Conservative), Philip Ainsworth (Labour), David Walker-Nix (Green Party), and Frances Baxter (Ukip).

In total the ruling Conservatives – who currently have a majority of four – and Labour will be standing in all 15 wards involved in the election, Lib Dems will be standing in all except for Bishop’s Waltham, the Green Party will be fielding seven candidates, and Ukip will field one.

The election will take place on Thursday, May 3. Results will be available on the Chronicle website and in the following week’s newspaper.

l SIR Vince Cable, leader of the Liberal Democrats, visited Winchester last week to talk to students and party members at Winchester University, kicking off the party’s election campaign in the city.

Mr Cable took questions from students, with a focus on higher education on Brexit.

Lib Dem councillor Martin Tod said a large audience turned to see Mr Cable.


Alresford and Itchen Valley

  • Lee Hayes (Lab)

  • Margot Power (Lib)

  • Irene Spencer (Con)

Badger Farm and Oliver’s Battery

  • Neil Dolby (Lab)

  • John Godbold (Con)

  • Brian Laming (Lib)*

  • Max Priesemann (Gre)

Bishop’s Waltham

  • Steve Haines (Lab)

  • Steve Miller (Con)*

Central Meon Valley

  • Sheila Campbell (Lib)

  • Stan Evans (Lab)

  • Linda Gemmell (Con)*

Colden Common and Twyford

  • Paul Brown (Lab)

  • Sue Cook (Con)*

  • Hannah Williams (Lib)


  • Caroline Brook (Con)*

  • Judith Godwin (Lib)

  • Alexander Graft (Lab)

  • Ben Haysom-Newport (Gre)

Southwick and Wickham

  • Neil Cutler (Lib)*

  • David Newberry (Con)

  • Paul Sony (Lab)

St. Barnabas

  • Adrian Field (Lab)

  • Robert Parker (Gre)

  • Paul Twelftree (Con)

  • Anne Weir (Lib)*

St. Bartholomew

  • Philip Ainsworth (Lab)

  • Frances Baxter (Ukip)

  • Kathleen Becker (Lib)

  • Paul Humm (Con)

  • David Walker-Nix (Gre)

St. Michael

  • Charles Elderton (Lab)

  • Jonathan Lawrence (Gre)

  • Lynda Murphy (Lib)

  • Ian Tait (Con)*

St. Paul

  • Chris Hunt (Con)

  • Catherine Hutchinson (Lab)

  • Lucille Thompson (Lib)*

  • Andrew Wainwright (Gre)

The Worthys

  • Tracey Anderson (Con)

  • Malcolm Prince (Lib)*

  • Kimberly Torkington (Lab)

Upper Meon Valley

  • Simon Cook (Lib)

  • June Kershaw (Lab)

  • Laurence Ruffell (Con)*

Whiteley & Shedfield

  • Roger Bentote (Lib)*

  • Jess Bond (Con)

  • Laurie Clough (Lab)

  • Anne Coleman (Gre)

Wonston and Micheldever

  • Andrew Adams (Lab)

  • Patrick Cunningham (Con)

  • Ian Gordon (Lib)