VOTERS in the Winchester district are due to put their X' in the box on Thursday, May 3.

Following last year's city council elections, the Conservatives ousted the Liberal Democrats from power.

The Tories now have a narrow majority, which they are aiming to defend at next month's elections.

Of the 57 seats on the city authority, 19 are being contested, and the deadline for candidates to apply closed on Wednesday.

Among those seeking re-election is current Winchester mayor, Cllr Sue Nelmes, in St Bartholomew ward.

Cllr Colin Chamberlain, who leads the Independent group, is standing again in Bishop's Waltham.

Across in Denmead, Conservative cabinet member for culture, heritage and sport, Cllr Patricia Stallard, is hoping to defend her seat.

This year's new candidates include Karen Barratt, who is flying the Lib Dem flag in St Paul ward.

She spent several years leading the campaign against mobile phone firm, Orange, building a mast in Byron Avenue, Fulflood.

The Conservatives and Lib Dems are putting forward candidates in all 19 wards. Labour is fighting 15, with UKIP contesting six and the Greens two.


The Alresfords Robin Atkins (Lab) Ernie Jeffs (Con) David Samuel (UKIP) Lucille Thompson (LD)

Bishop's Waltham Colin Chamberlain (Ind) Stephen Haines (Lab) Roy Stainton (LD) Charlie Wright (Con)

Colden Common and Twyford Susan Evershed (Con) Elaine Fullaway (Lab) Jim Wagner (LD)

Compton and Otterbourne Chris Barton-Briddon (UKIP) Eleanor Bell (LD) Murray Macmillan (Con) Clare McKenna (Lab)

Denmead Patricia Stallard (Con) Anne Stoneham (LD)

Itchen Valley Daniel (Neil) Baxter (Con) John Clark (UKIP) Andrew Thompson (LD)

Littleton and Harestock Patrick Cunningham (Con) Kelsie Learney (LD) Tessa Valentine (Lab)

Owslebury and Curdridge Brian Fullaway (Lab) Robert Humby (Con) Ian Merritt (LD)

St Barnabas, Winchester Eileen Berry (Con) Adrian Field (Lab) Allan Mitchell (LD) Dave Walker-Nix (Green)

St Bartholomew, Winchester Timothy Curran (Lab) Abdul Kayum (Con) Sue Nelmes (LD) Rupert Pitt (no party)

St John and All Saints, Winchester Antony de Peyer (Lab) Adrian Hicks (LD) Lawrence Hole (UKIP) Michael Lovegrove (Con)

St Luke, Winchester David Abbott (UKIP) Robert Ducker (Con) Alexis Fall (LD) David Smith (Lab)

St Michael, Winchester Susan Chesters (LD) Albert Edwards (Lab) Judith Gordon (UKIP) Fiona Mather (Con)

St Paul, Winchester Karen Barratt (LD) Glenn Cope (Lab) Robert Courts (Con)

Swanmore and Newtown Frank Pearson (Con) Michael Toole (LD)

Upper Meon Valley Caroline Biggs (Con) Margaret Scriven (LD)

Whiteley Vivian Achwal (LD) Mike Anthony (Con) Barry Jones (Lab)

Wickham Sue Fitzgerald (LD) Neil Jackson (Con) Robert Rudge (Lab)

Wonston and Micheldever Alison Craig (Green) Simon Hobson (LD) Nigel Lickley (Lab) Malcolm Wright (Con)