Marit Bjoergen wrote herself into the history books as Norway completed a clean sweep of medals in the Winter Olympics women's 30km cross-country.

The 33-year-old claimed her third gold medal of the Sochi Games and the sixth of her career to make her the joint most decorated female Winter Olympian in history, matching the six golds won by speed skater Lidia Skoblikova (USSR) and cross-country skier Lyubov Yegorova (Russia).

Bjoergen finished 2.6 seconds ahead of compatriot and World Cup leader Therese Johaug, with Kristin Stoermer Steira, competing in her third Games, claiming her first individual Olympic medal to complete the podium.

"It's incredible," said Bjoergen afterwards. "We're all Norwegian and we're all on the podium.

"This has been a goal for me for a long time. I thought the 30k would be hard but I've felt very good in the last days."

Austrian Mario Matt also moved into the history books as he became the oldest alpine skier to win an Olympic gold medal, triumphing in the men's slalom.

Matt, 34 years and 319 days old, overtook the record previously held by Norway's Kjetil Andre Aamodt, who was 34 years and 169 days when he triumphed in the men's super G at the Turin Games in 2006.

Pre-race favourite Marcel Hirscher of Austria took silver and Norwegian Henrik Kristoffersen earned bronze after several contenders, including Alexis Pinturault, Felix Neureuther and Ted Ligety, crashed out in their second runs.

Russia won the men's 4x7.5km biathlon relay gold in a thrilling climax at the Laura Cross Country & Biathlon Center.

Anton Shipulin was roared home to victory, holding off Germany's Simon Schempp over the closing stretch, with Austria claiming the bronze.

Finland's men's ice hockey team secured Sochi 2014 bronze in emphatic fashion as they thumped the United States 5-0 at the Bolshoy Ice Dome.

After an evenly matched first period in which Patrick Kane missed his penalty shot for the US, the Finns opened the scoring in the second through captain Teemu Selanne.

Jussi Jokinen then extended the lead before Kane experienced more penalty shot woe in the seventh minute of the second period as his attempt hit the post.

Finland then took control in the third with Juuso Hietanen, Selanne and Olli Maatta rounding off a one-sided affair.

Holland captured the men's speed skating team pursuit title in emphatic style, smashing the Olympic record they set in Vancouver four years ago.

In an exhilarating final the Dutch fought off a spirited challenge from South Korea to claim gold in a new record of three minutes 37.71 seconds.

Poland secured the bronze after beating Canada in the other medal contest, finishing 2.33secs ahead of the Vancouver gold medallists.

The women's team then ensured it was a golden double for Holland by defeating Poland in the final, breaking the Olympic record for the third time in the competition on the way to victory.

The Dutch finished a massive 7.5secs ahead of the Poles, posting 2:58.05, with hosts Russia defeating Japan in the bronze medal contest.

American-born Russian snowboarder Vic Wild won his second gold medal of the Games after triumphing in the parallel slalom.

The 27-year-old, who became a Russian citizen two years ago and topped the podium in the parallel giant slalom final earlier this week, earned gold after two tight victories on Saturday.

He first overcame eventual bronze medallist Benjamin Karl, who beat Aaron March in the small final, by a narrow margin in the last-four stage and then edged out training partner Zan Kosir of Slovenia in the showpiece event.

In the women's event, Austrian Julia Dujmovits sealed gold after squeezing past Anke Karstens in the final.

Karstens' fellow German Amelie Kober triumphed in the small final against Italian Corinna Boccaccini to emerge with the bronze.

Alexander Zubkov's Russia crew sit at the top of the leaderboard heading into the final two runs of the four-man bobsleigh on Sunday.

Zubkov's men were quickest on Saturday's opening run at the Sanki Sliding Center, then followed up with another good time to clock one minute 50.19 seconds, an advantage of 0.04secs over Oskars Melbardis' Latvian team.

Germany, piloted by Maximilian Arndt are third, 0.16secs down on the leaders, with the medals to be decided on Sunday afternoon.