Carberry recalled to England's limited-overs squads



First published in Sport
Last updated
Hampshire Chronicle: Photograph of the Author by , Senior Sports Reporter

Michael Carberry has been included in both of England's limited-overs squads to play Sri Lanka.

The Hampshire star made public his frustration with the England management following his non-selection during the ODI series against Australia during the winter.

But new England coach Peter Moores has included him in a 13-man squad for the NatWest International T20 against current ICC World T20 champions Sri Lanka on Tuesday, May 20 at the Kia Oval.

And he has also named him in a 14-man squad for the first three matches of the five-match Royal London One-Day Series against Sri Lanka, beginning on Thursday, May 22 at the Kia Oval.

Carberry and Harry Gurney are the two uncapped players in a T20 squad captained by Eoin Morgan in the absence of Stuart Broad, who is undergoing rehabilitation on his right knee.

Alastair Cook's ODI squad also sees the addition of Yorkshire all rounder Tim Bresnan to the squad that recently defeated Scotland by 39 runs in a rain-affected ODI in Aberdeen.

Carberry has effectively replaced former Hampshire teammate Michael Lumb and will miss two Championship games, against Leicestershire and Derbyshire, as well as three Natwest T20 Blast matches; against Sussex, Middlesex and Essex.

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

England ODI squad (Matches 1-3): Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire) Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire) Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree