WINCHESTER schoolchildren made a splash at the 14th annual Primary Schools Swimming Gala.

Over 300 children from 26 different schools descended on River Park Leisure Centre on Friday, June 6, with new mayor Cllr Eileen Berry, as well as hundreds of parents, watching from the sidelines.

It was hosted by Winchester City Penguins Swimming Club, and sponsored by The University of Winchester, Bulthaup, Round Table and Sainsbury’s Badger Farm and Town.

The Penguins Alison Crompton said: “It gives lots of children an opportunity to swim competitively, and is their first experience of that in a fun environment. It’s a really popular community event and all the schools love coming.”

Harry Day of Prince’s Mead came first in the Year 4 boys race, with Christopher Davies, St Bede, in second, and Sherborne House’s Jamie Hickman in third.

Alicia Peinado of Harestock Primary came first in the Year 4 girls race, and Olivia Busher and Eleanor Jones, both of St Swithun’s, came in second and third.

Pilgrims came first in Boys’ Freestyle Relays, with Bishop’s Waltham in second and Twyford Prep in third.

St Swithun’s Junior scooped first in the Girls’ Freestyle Relays, with Bishop’s Waltham taking second, and Prince’s Mead third.

Pilgrims were victorious in the Boys’ Mixed Stroke Relays, in second was Bishop’s Waltham and third, Otterbourne.

In the Girls’ Mixed Stroke Relays Bishop’s Waltham took home the trophy, with St Swithun’s Junior in second, and Twyford Prep coming third.

Compton won the Boys’ Invitational Relay, South Wonston came second, and Scantabout third.

The Girls Invitational Relay saw All Saints finish first, Otterbourne take second and St Peter’s third.

The competing schools were All Saints; Ampfield and John Keble; Bishop’s Waltham; Colden Common; Compton; Harestock; Micheldever; Oliver’s Battery; Otterbourne; Owslebury; Pilgrims; Prince’s Mead; Scantabout; Sherborne House; South Wonston; Sparsholt; St Bede; St Peter’s; St Swithun’s; Stanmore; Sun Hill; Twyford Prep; Twyford St Mary’s; Weeke; Western; and Winnall.